Council staff as well as at our member institutions are available to answer questions about policy issues or research.

Council policy & research contacts

Leadership for the Council's policy efforts comes from Paul Cerkvenik, president, and Alison Piumbroeck Groebner, our director of government relations and community affairs — in consultation with the Policy Committee of the board. If you’re looking for other Council staff, please head to our full staff list.

Alison Groebner

Alison Piumbroeck Groebner

Director of Government and Community Relations

Alison joined the Council in December 2018. She was most recently the Director of Government Affairs at the Minnesota Department of Commerce. Prior to her five years at the Commerce Department, she worked in the Minnesota State Senate. Alison is a graduate of the University of St. Thomas, where as an undergraduate she was the recipient of the Spirit of St. Thomas Award for Outstanding Leadership as well as the Global Citizen Award.

Megan Rozowski

Megan Rozowski

Director of Research and Policy Development

Megan joined the Council in 2012. She leads the Council’s research efforts, providing data and analysis to support the Council’s policy agenda and admissions work. She previously worked as a research analyst for Applied Policy Research, Inc., a higher education net revenue management consulting company. Megan earned a B.A. in Economics from Carleton College and Master of Public Policy from the Humphrey School of Public Affairs.

Mitch Radtke

Mitch Radtke

Research Analyst

Mitch joined the Council in November 2020. He coordinates the Council’s research projects and maintains the quality of its data. He previously worked as a data analyst at Community Action Partnership of Hennepin County, a nonprofit dedicated to reducing poverty and increasing economic opportunity. He recently taught political science and research methodology courses at St. Olaf College and Bucknell University. Mitch earned a B.A. in Political Science and International Studies from the University of St. Thomas and a Ph.D. in Political Science from Texas A&M University.

Monali Bhakta

Monali Bhakta

Advocacy Associate

Monali joined the Council in January 2021. She recently graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College with a B.A. in Political Science and English. As a student, Monali testified in the Minnesota Senate Higher Education Committee, advocating for increased funding for the State Grant program, and during her senior year served as co-president of the Gustavus Student Senate where she promoted diversity, equity and inclusion. She also has served as a congressional intern for the Office of U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar, providing assistance in constituent services on immigration and social security casework.

Campus legislative contacts

The campus legislative contacts listed below are the lead contacts at our member institutions on policy matters.

Augsburg University
Chris Bogen
Campaign Coordinator
Tel: 612-330-1696
Email: [email protected]

Bethany Lutheran College
Lance Schwartz
Director of Institutional Communication
Tel: 507-344-7427
Email: [email protected]

Bethel University
Tim Hammer
Director of Marketing
Tel: 651-638-6784
Email: [email protected]

Carleton College
Joe Hargis
Associate Vice President for External Relations
Tel: 507-222-4327
Email: [email protected]

Helen Clarke Ebert
Director of Digital Strategy and Public Affairs
Tel: 507- 222-4183
Email: [email protected]

College of Saint Benedict/Saint John's University
Stuart Perry
Executive Director of Financial Aid
Tel: 320-363-5047
Email: [email protected]

Jon Enriquez
Director of Institutional Research and Assessment
Tel: 320-363-5287
Email: [email protected]

The College of St. Scholastica
Janet Rosen
Associate Vice President for Institutional Advancement
Tel: 218-723-6072
Email: [email protected]

Concordia College, Moorhead
Karl Stumo
Vice President for Enrollment and Marketing
Tel: 218-299-3887
Email: [email protected]

Eric Addington
Associate Vice President for Enrollment and Financial Aid
Tel: 218-299-3887
Email: [email protected]

Concordia University, St. Paul
Bruce P. Corrie
Associate Vice President, University Relations
Tel: 651-641-8226
Email: [email protected]

Eric LaMott
Provost and Chief Operating Officer
Tel: 651-641-8729
Email: [email protected]

Gustavus Adolphus College
Tim Kennedy
Vice President for Marketing and Communications
Tel: 507-933-6395
Email: [email protected]

Hamline University
Jeff Papas
Director of Communications
Tel: 651-523-2953
Email: [email protected]

Macalester College
Sara Suelflow
Director of Digital Engagement and Public Affairs, Communications and Marketing
Tel: 651-696-6307
Email: [email protected]

Minneapolis College of Art and Design

Saint Mary' University of Minnesota
Ann Merchlewitz
Executive Vice President and General Counsel
Tel: 507-457-1587
Email: [email protected]

St. Catherine University
Beth Stevens
Associate Dean of Enrollment and Director of Financial Aid
Tel: 651-690-6540
Email: [email protected]

St. Olaf College
Chris George
Dean of Admission and Financial Aid
Tel: 507-786-3775
Email: [email protected]

University of St. Thomas
Amy McDonough
Chief of Staff and Liaison to the Office of the President
Tel: 651-962-6030
Email: [email protected]

Amy Gage
Director of Neighborhood and Community Relations
Tel: 651-962-6123
Email: [email protected]